Food, Recipe

Super Easy Scrummy Ratatouille Recipe

This may sound as though I have been living in a hole my entire life but I have only just discovered the wonder that is ratatouille. I first had it over the Easter break when I was staying with my boyfriends family in Scotland. One night we all sat down for dinner and this strange dish called ratatouille was served, I’d heard of it of course and had a vague idea about what it was from watching one of my favourite Disney films of the same name. But once I tasted it I was absolutely hooked. A week later I then went out for my Mum’s birthday to a fantastic Mediterranean restaurant and she ordered ratatouille with chickpea rice. After trying a little of hers I vowed to myself I would not rest until I had recreated this fantastic dish. So the first night back at uni me, my boyfriend, a jar of chopped tomatoes and a whole host of vegetables set out on a ratatouille making adventure.

For a first try it was pretty damn good though I say so myself and it was one of the easiest things I have ever made. The trick is to leave it to cook for about an hour so all the flavours combine and the vegetables are lovely and soft. Also adding a few chickpeas to my rice worked so well I think I will always have my rice like this from now on!

Okay so enough chatting here is the recipe! Enjoy!

Makes enough for 4-5 (depending on how hungry you are)

Ingredients:

2 courgettes
1 aubergine
A box or about 12 mushrooms of your choice
A whole pepper (we used half a green one and half a red one to give it some diversity)
8 cherry tomatoes
1 onion
3 tins of chopped tomatoes
Garlic puree
2 tbsp of paprika (depending on how hot you want it add more or less)
tsp of dried chilli flakes
Pinch of salt

Chickpea rice:
Easy cook rice of your choice
£150g Tinned chickpeas

Recipe:

1. Chop all your veg and your onion into chunks or circles however you’d like it. Then put a large deep pan on the hob and heat with a little oil in it.
2. Add a couple of squirts of garlic puree or a couple of crushed cloves of garlic, stir around and cook for about 30 seconds before adding your onion.
3. Let the onion fry until it is nice and soft and then add all the other veg leave that to warm through for about 2 minutes stirring round so the heat gets to all of them.
4. Add the chopped tomatoes then fill each of the cans about a quarter with water swill it round to get the left over tomato juice and add this to the mix.
5. Give it a good stir, add your paprika, chilli and salt stir again then leave to simmer for an hour.

For the rice:
Simply boil your rice with the chickpeas for how ever long the rice tells you to do.

And there you have it! Super easy super yummy ratatouille, a nice light dish for the summer. Let me know if you make it yourself or if you do yours differently, I’d love to hear and tips or tricks you have.

Bye for now!

  

3 thoughts on “Super Easy Scrummy Ratatouille Recipe”

Leave a Reply

