Fashion, Food, Lifestyle, Outdoors, Summer, Wild swimming

A Birthday Picnic And Wild Swimming

The other day was my 21st birthday and to celebrate my Mum had organised a party back home for family and close friends on the weekend after my birthday. This meant we got to dress up all fancy and go to a fancy restaurant and eat lots of scrummy food and drink lots of champagne! But on my actual birthday I was still in Oxford having had lectures on the two days prior and so it was just me and Russell. I thought of a a few things I would like to do but what appealed to me the most was having a completely chilled day outside enjoying the spring weather. Luckily the weather on my birthday was the hottest we have had yet this year so me and Russell bought ourselves a snazzy picnic (Sainsburys taste the difference sandwiches don’t ya know!) and went to Port Meadow in Oxford. It was glorious.

 I had never been to Port Meadow before but I had seen on the wild swimming England website that this part of the Thames was a good place to go for a dip. So after eating our picnic by the river and soaking up a few rays I decided to brave it and go in. It was absolutely freezing. In these pictures I look very serene and calm swimming about but believe me there are many more pictures of me flailing my arms about and screaming from the shock of the cold. Needless to say I didn’t stay in the water long but came out to do some more sunbathing.

After eating some very tasty caterpillar birthday cake we went for a little wander down the river and saw all sorts of wild life from cows, to geese, to rabbits and even a herd of horses grazing. It was very beautiful and a really nice place to just kick back and relax – just what the doctor ordered during this time of assignment hand ins and exams at uni.

I had a fantastic birthday chilling out and can’t wait to go back again in the summer maybe after my last exam. Are any of you holed up surrounded by revision and exams? What do you do to chill out during stressful exam times?

Bye for now! 

4 thoughts on “A Birthday Picnic And Wild Swimming”

  1. I have always wanted to do wild swimming, Oooh jealous, even if it was cold! By the way, if you're moving to Herefordshire, the river Wye is BRILLIANT to swim in, I've swam in it happily many times. X

    Like

Leave a Reply

