Uncategorized

St. George’s Day

Taken in the Lake District near Ambleside

 Me and my Mum dressing up at Lyme Park 
A tea party of course




















The little bridge house in Ambleside                                    Good old English!

“We may be a small country, but we’re a great one, too. The country of Shakespeare, Churchill, the Beatles, Sean Connery, Harry Potter. David Beckham’s right foot. David Beckham’s left foot, come to that.” The Prime minister – Love Actually 

Proud To Be English…..

Today is St George’s day, a day that we don’t seem to take all that seriously here in England and yet it is a day in which we can and should celebrate being English. I love England, I love the beautiful countryside, the idea we have that tea has magical healing powers that can heal whatever ales you and the constant need to apologise to everyone and everything we come into contact with. I love that we have a royal family and an amazing history that spans back thousands of years with castles and palaces and little cottages meticulously preserved by the National Trust or English Heritage so that we and future generations can enjoy a piece of history. I love that we have birthed some of the greatest writers the world has ever known, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, The Bronte sisters, Shakespeare, Hardy, C.S. Lewis, Jk Rowling and so many more. I love the amazing and sometimes baffling food that we are famous for Yorkshire puddings, roast dinners, afternoon tea, jam roly poly, scones and that one of the biggest debates of our time is whether its jam and then cream or cream and then jam. 

I love the theatres, the churches, the houses of parliament and Buckingham palace. I love the fact that the English language is a magpie language taking from the languages of others and evolving over hundreds of years to then create words like “spiffing” and “Tally-ho”. I love Bruce Forsythe and Julie Andrews, The Beatles and Paddington Bear, Colin Firth and Miranda Hart. I love taking afternoon tea at Betty’s in York, standing to sing “God Save the Queen” and the way everyone decides to dress as though they were in the Caribbean as soon as the sun pops up to say hello regardless of the fact its only 10 degrees outside.      

 Much Ado About Nothing by the Royal Shakespeare Company in 2012 in Stratford upon Avon

 The Marine Lake West Kirby

London Bridge

Tintagel Cornwall

 Yew Tree Farm in Coniston – Used in the film Miss Potter

Yorkshire Lambs 

 Sizergh Castle in Cumbria 

 Taken in the beautiful gardens of Sizergh Castle

View from outside Sizergh Castle

I love England. I love everything about it. I have been lucky enough to travel to many beautiful and inspiring places where I have seen wonderful things but I find when I return I am always so glad to snuggle back into my comfy cosy England. To put a woolly jumper on, snuggle down into a big leather arm chair with a cup of tea and a bun, turn the television on to Strictly Come dancing and make a passing remark about the weather. Ahhh it’s good to be English.  

Bye for now!

2 thoughts on “St. George’s Day”

  1. I love this post!

    All these pictures just capture the spirit of quintissential England in all its glory ^.^
    I wish I had celebrated for St.Georges day yesterday, but there seems to be a lot of reservation down here but upsetting people 😦 It's a shame, because although yes, there's a ton of traditions we should definitely wave goodbye to because their values are outdated, celebrating a countries heritage and myths is harmless and can be enjoyed by everyone 🙂 I love England in all it's drizzly, quaint and tumble-down majesty 🙂 Love that tintagel even got its own photo spot ^.^ woo! Go Cornwall! 😀

    xxx

    Sarah | thesaltyseablog.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  2. Yes exactly! I think it's such a shame – we have such a huge celebration for St Patrick's day but not for St George's day! I feel like we need to celebrate it more and each year I try to do very English things like have afternoon tea! I love Tintagel! We have a friend with a house there so we often go stay for holidays! Cornwall is amazing! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

