Outdoors, Sea, Summer

Saying Goodbye

“At the beach, life is different. Time doesn’t move hour to hour, but mood to moment. We live by the currents, plan by the tides and follow the sun” – Unknown.

A couple of weeks ago I spent the last few nights in the home I grew up in. It was incredibly sad having to say goodbye to a place where I have lived my entire life. I found myself wandering from room to room caressing walls, breathing in the scent of the house and nuzzling into the carpets with my toes. Its strange how you can love something so inanimate as a house but I do love it. I love all the little crevices I used to hide in as a child, all the rooms I created imaginary games in and the places where I have laughed, played, cried, shouted, sung, prayed and smiled for the last 16 years. I am excited to move into the new house in Hereford and for some time we have been backwards and forwards whilst waiting to sell the house so it didn’t happen suddenly but that doesn’t make it any easier saying goodbye.

One of the hardest things for me was knowing I would no longer be living right next to the sea. West Kirby beach has always been one of my favourite places, it isn’t a particularly grand beach, it doesn’t have white sands stretching for miles or a good surf but it was the beach I grew up on. It was where I walked when I needed space, where I had picnics with friends, it was where I played at being an explorer or a mermaid or a lost princess when I was child and it was where I first fell in love with the outdoors. It is a place very close to my heart and so the day before I left me and my boyfriend went for a nice relaxing walk along the sand.

It was a beautiful sunny day and so I did what I have done for the last 21 years of my life, I took my socks and shoes off, rolled my trousers up and felt the sand squish into my toes. It was blissful. We spent an hour snapping photos, soaking up the sun and paddling in the little puddles left behind by the sea. As always we took nothing but photo’s and left nothing but footprints and I like to think those footprints will remain there for a little bit, a small imprint of me left behind in the place I love so much.

I hope you are all enjoying the sunny weather, have you found time to go for little wanders in the places you love?

Bye for now! 

Leave a Reply

