Lifestyle, Style

What I Got For My Birthday

If you have been reading my blog you will know the other day was my 21st birthday. I had a really lovely day spent picnicking and wild swimming in a meadow in Oxford. I was an extremely lucky girl and got a lot of lovely presents from friends and family and I thought I would share a few of my favourites with you.

On the morning of my birthday one of my best friends at uni turned up to my house with a bottle of pink champagne from Bettys in York which is one of my absolute favourite places in the world. I had a few glasses at my party the weekend after my birthday and it was delicious. I also got a beautiful scarf which I was told is fair trade which I love as I am trying to buy all my clothes and food ethically. The book is a penguin cloth bound classic and it is Lady Chatterley’s Lover, I have a love for books with beautiful covers and so I am collecting all of the cloth bound classics, I now have four of them! I also got a copy of my new favourite film Paddington, I literally cannot describe how much I love this film it just makes me so happy when I watch it – happy and hungry for marmalade sandwiches.

I really wanted a large A3 sketchpad as I write children’s stories and I like to write out story boards with time lines and doodles and things that give me inspiration and so my boyfriend bought me this sketch pad made of recycled wood and paper (bit of an ethical theme going on here). My boyfriend also bought me a beautiful bunch of flowers and a collection of Beatrix Potter books which are another of my favourites. I know I am now 21 but I will continue to read children’s books for the rest of my life.

These are just a few of the lovely presents I was lucky enough to receive. Have you seen Paddington? Is it just me who thinks it is the best film ever?

Bye for now! 

2 thoughts on “What I Got For My Birthday”

  1. What fun to be 21! You should try to keep this writing you do so you can look back at it many years on and see how you were 'back then'. Your blog sizzles with optimism and the sense f how much is out there to discover. I wonder if you voted? PS Somewhere you mentioned wanting to write. Writing is a bit hard grind … it's not a romantic way to live … on the other hand, if it's in you it finds its way out. I recognise that church & the pub: that's St Andrews Headington. We walk round there sometimes.

    Like

  2. Yes I've been keeping my writing for years I love looking back at it, I started writing when I was about 6 so I have loads of notebooks all over the place I've kept haha. I've already written a couple of books I'm hoping this summer to get them ready for publishing so we will see! I love that little church its so pretty! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

