Green, Lifestyle

48 Hours Phone Free

The last few weeks have been incredibly stressful for quite a few reasons. I have moved house at home and am in the process of moving house at uni and on top of that my boyfriend is moving back to Scotland. All of these things mixed together have caused me to be very stressed and very anxious lately which is why the other night when I got home from driving 3 hours, packing up my uni house in Oxford and moving it into another one then driving 3 hours home again I decided to turn my phone off. I had been getting lots of messages and I kept on checking my emails and I would repeatedly do this throughout the evening and into the night just before going to sleep which then meant I would work myself up into an anxious state and not be able to sleep. I decided enough was enough and I switched it off and put it into a draw.

At first I thought I was just going to do it for the night so I could have a nice relaxing evening with my boyfriend but it ended staying in that draw for 24 hours and then when I needed to set an alarm on it I simply set it to flight mode and the next day when the alarm went off I turned it off again and put it back in the draw. The first night wasn’t so great as I was still worrying but the second night I slept absolutely amazingly.

I really want to try and slowly wean myself off technology. I am already trying to stop looking at screens after about 10 and instead read and slowly wind down for bed. I’d love to be able to have screen free weekends or even weeks at some point. I just want to take out time for myself, to read, to write with a pen and paper, to bake and cook, to sing and play the piano and just do all the things I love to do. I think this will also encourage me to spend even more time outside which I think is so important to my general health. I’m hoping this 48 hours without my phone will soon become 48 hours without my phone, laptop or ipad. Maybe I will try that next weekend.

Have you ever tried a phone free day or week? Let me know in the comments below.

Bye for now!      

Leave a Reply

