Farmers Market, Food, Lifestyle, Outdoors

From Field To Fork

The other day it was my Dad’s birthday and so in true country style we decided to spend it going to a local farmers market and then out for dinner at the pub. Where I grew up near Liverpool we didn’t really get many farmer’s markets and so I am just getting used to the beauty of being able to pitch up in one field or another nearly every weekend and buy some amazing local food.

The Field to Fork festival was designed to encourage people to support their local farmers and try eating fresh food that has been grown and sourced locally. There was everything there from cakes to fudge to gin and even a Land Rover to try out. The festival mainly celebrated what is currently in season – asparagus, strawberries and cider. It was really lovely and I thoroughly enjoyed wandering around the stalls trying a bit of this and a bit of that. Needless to say me and Mum bought quite a lot of things including three tubs of strawberries, some freshly squeezed apple juice and a ton of asparagus. All in all it was a very successful day and I can’t wait to go back to another one.

I think it’s really important that we as communities keep on supporting our local businesses and farmers as it not only boosts the economy and helps keep our planet greener but the produce always tastes so much better. I am hoping to be able to find a nice farmer’s market in Oxford when I go back in September, if you know of any let me know in the comments below.

 Have you been to any local farmer’s markets lately? Let me know below. 
Bye for now! 
4 thoughts on “From Field To Fork”

  1. mmmm STRAWBERRIES! 😀
    I love farmers markets! We have a few in Cornwall which I enjoy pottering around 🙂
    The other week, I went to the royal Cornwall show, which I guess is like the comic-con of farmers markets? 😛 Tractors galore! ^.^

    Sarah xxo | thesaltyseablog.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

