Food, Lifestyle

Ladies Who Lunch In Ledbury

As a foodie I am very lucky to live in Herefordshire as there is so much good food to enjoy. Herefordshire and Worcestershire are not that well known but to those who are in the know, these counties are little hidden gems of locally sourced produce and fantastic eateries. I’ve started to explore the local food markets and I’ve been to a couple of food festivals but one of my favourite things to do is try the restaurants, cafes and pubs around my new house.

Ledbury is a beautiful little market town not far from where I live and with cafes, books shops, an artisan chocolatier and a healthful shop selling organic local produce it is fast becoming one of my favourite places to potter around. Back in January when I was home for Christmas me and my boyfriend were introduced to this little gem by my mother and it fast became my favourite cafe for lunch.

And so when my friend came for a last minute spontaneous visit to Hereford I decided Ledbury and the Market House Cafe were a must do. The food here is unbelievably amazing! I have now been for lunch, pudding, coffee and cake and it has all been amazing. They use tons of locally sourced ingredients from jams to ice cream to the apple juice and they also sell it in their little deli next door. You can get the classic sandwiches, jackets and soups but they also have specials each day that range from quiche to bbq pulled pork bap and chips. The chicken and bacon club sandwich is my usual choice as it is the most delicious thing in the world. Three slices of chunky granary bread with hot chicken, bacon and lettuce sandwiched in-between each layer covered in lashings of creamy mayo. I am dribbling just thinking about it……

They also do the most fantastic hot chocolate with whipped cream and marshmallows which is a definite must in the colder months. The cakes are all homemade and fantastically delicious especially the ginormous scones that they serve with clotted cream and jam.

If you are ever in Herefordshire I would seriously recommend a trip to Ledbury for shopping and to the Market House Cafe for a quick sandwich or scone!

Bye for now! 

Leave a Reply

