Green, Lifestyle, Summer

A Secret Garden

Summers are definitely a time for adventures and I seem to be catching up on all the ones I couldn’t do whilst at uni. One of my favourite places to go an explore is a National Trust and having been going to at least one every holiday during my childhood it only made sense that I continued this tradition into adulthood. It is also ridiculously cheap for a student yearly pass and so I decided to get one last year and even if I don’t use it as much as I would like it still feels good to be giving money towards the upkeep of our heritage and beautiful landscapes.

So when my Auntie came to stay for a girly few days a couple of weeks ago we decided to pack up a picnic and make our way to Berrington Hall. We had a really lovely day exploring the house and grounds. There also happened to be a Jane Austen costume exhibition throughout the house whilst we were there which as an Austen enthusiast I loved! But my favourite part of the hall was definitely the gardens particularly the walled garden which reminded me so much of one of my favourite story settings – The Secret Garden. It was absolutely full of vegetables, fruits, herbs and so many different flowers and all set out in such a beautiful and decorative way that I instantly fell in love.

One of the things I love to dream about is my future garden and being able to grow all my own fruit, veg and herbs and this little garden gave me tons of idea’s and inspiration. These are just a few snaps but I took ridiculous amounts of photos to keep and remind me of how beautiful my own kitchen garden could be one day. It was so peaceful and smelled so amazing that I didn’t want to leave this is definitely somewhere I’d like to come back to.

Let me know if you’ve got plans for your own garden or future garden I’d love to read them in the comments below.

Bye for now!

Leave a Reply

