Christmas, Fashion, Style, Winter

The Secret Garden

One of my favourite books when I was little was definitely The Secret Garden, I loved the idea of discovering a magical place that was completely secret from the world and entirely my own to do with as I wished. As a child I often tried to recreate little hideaways in my room or a commandeer a cosy nook to read in away from everyone else. Still as an adult I find myself looking for a quiet space to hideaway in and whenever I see a gated/walled garden I get excited. And so when I saw the new house my parents moved into in April this year had a separate garden in the back hidden by hedges and shut off with a gate I got super excited. My Dad is currently turning it into an orchard (summer reading spot sorted) so it is a bit of a mess at the moment but I still feel its a bit of a magical place and I can’t wait till the trees are planted. 
This dress is definitely a favourite of mine but I don’t often get it out in the winter as it’s not very warm, however, after after playing around with the styling of it I found a warm black cardigan was all it needed to be made winter friendly. The dress is made from quite a stretchy fabric so it’s really comfortable for daily wear and I love how pairing it with a cardigan makes it an all together Orla Keily – esque outfit.  
    

I often get stuck in a rut this time of year fashion wise because it’s so cold – jeans, boots and jumper seems the only answer but I am enjoying the challenge of styling up dresses for the warm weather! Let me know in the comments if you have any tips for vintage winter fashion. 
God bless! 
What I wore….
Dress – New Look | Cardigan – Marks and Spencers | Shoes – New Look
2 thoughts on “The Secret Garden”

Leave a Reply

