Fashion, Outdoors, Style, Winter

The Yellow Gorse and Crisp Leaves

I’m not sure when it started but I seem to have found a new love for enjoying every season when it comes. I always thought that Autumn was my favourite season but I am starting to find there is beauty in every season that I didn’t stop to look at before. I love the bareness gothic look of winter branches reaching up to a grey sky, the small buds of spring peeking through the soil to say hello, the lush green expanse of grass in a meadow that later turns to brown under the sun and the bright golden colours of autumn that explode in front of your eyes each time you leave the house. Each new season marks a passing in time, it’s own individual stage of growth in a yearly cycle and for me this feels true too. As the seasons change my life changes with them and new and exciting opportunities arise. At the moment I am revelling in a new year, in the new possibilities that this brings and the lost opportunities it allows me to say goodbye to. I made a promise to myself that I would take life slowly this year, that I would focus myself more to achieve specific things rather than trying to achieve all at once and I would take time out to enjoy the small things in life. 
For me a country walk with my fiancé (still weird calling him that) encompasses all those promises. It gives me time out to think and pause, to reflect on where I am going, to focus myself back on what I want to achieve in this moment and it allows me to dream with Russell, to reconnect with him and what our focus on life is together. It also gives me a chance to wonder at the beauty of nature and to be reminded of smallness in the midst of everything. I am really enjoying the winter this year, the bareness of it reminds me of a Bronte novel and fills me with inspiration every time I leave the house. The silver trees, the clouds that stretch across the sky like a dark streak of paint and the blue-black waves of the sea, I love it all and find I am never without my camera these days.     

This outfit I love. The dress is another Fatface sale buy and, as is usual when it comes to Fatface, one of the most comfortable dresses I have ever bought. It feels a little bit like an overgrown tshirt, soft and cosy, but it looks like a pretty floaty dress that I can go wandering around the woods and onto the beach wearing. I seem to buy all my clothes with one question in mind these days, “could I wear this wellies for walks?” and if the answer is no it better have a good reason to be. I spend a lot of my time now wandering around green spaces and to be honest I wouldn’t want it any other way.   
What I Wore….
Dress – Fatface | Cardigan – Marks and Spencer | Wellies – Hunters
2 thoughts on “The Yellow Gorse and Crisp Leaves”

Leave a Reply

