Inspiring, Lifestyle, Winter

My Year

For the past few weeks I’ve been pondering over the new year and, after making the life changing decision to leave university, what I want to achieve this year. For the first time in my life I feel free to do whatever I want and to decide which way my life will go, this is both an amazing and terrifying feeling. I began to get worried that the freedom would overwhelm me and I would try to do everything at once and instead of achieving anything I would just be stuck in limbo, pulled in so many directions that instead I remained still. It was around this time that I stumbled across this post by the lovely Ashley from The Shine Project (if you haven’t heard about the shine project then definitely go read all about it, it’s amazing, inspiring and so humbling) where she suggested having a word and a mantra that describes the 2016 you want to help you focus yourself. This was exactly what I needed and so I set about creating my own.

It didn’t actually take very long at all, I found I knew exactly what I wanted my 2016 to be and within about five minutes I had it written down. So here it is, my mantra 2016:

Cultivate the type of life I want to lead
I decided on the word cultivate as I felt it encompassed exactly how I felt about what I wanted to do this year. The word cultivate means many things – to raise or grow something, to try to develop or acquire a certain skill and to try to improve or develop ones mind – all of which explain exactly what I want to do with my year. I have already begun to follow my dream of becoming a writer and living a creative life and I want this to permeate into every corner and aspect of my life. I know now that I am in charge of creating the type of life I want and therefore I have to be proactive, I have to go out and get it and achieve what I want. I need to cultivate the life that I want. 
I also have a word that helps to sum up exactly what this mantra and this year means to me and that is simply: create. This year I want to create my life be that through my job, my relationship, my home and my future. I am excited by the start I’ve already made, I know creative living is a hard thing to aspire to and I have been told by many that it is only for the brave but it is what I want and this year I intend to get it.    
     
Leave a Reply

