Fashion, Outdoors, Style, Winter

The Golden Light Of Winter

 

Sometimes it’s easy to take for granted all the things you have and to only look at what you don’t have. I am definitely guilty of this, I constantly look forward to the time when I can move to Scotland and get a nice house in the countryside for me and fiancé to live in and because of this I often miss the good things in the here and now. One of my new years resolutions was to take more time out, to enjoy slow living and I think a big part of that for me is learning to live in the present. Life always seems stressful and fast if I am constantly looking to the future, if I am constantly trying to predict what’s round the bend and planning everything. Of course there are things that need to be looked at and planned mainly our wedding, but I think that in itself should be enjoyed, the process of planning a wedding is something I will never get again and so although I am looking to the future I need to make a conscious decision to enjoy the present.

I am definitely not a city girl, I lived in Birmingham for a year and I have lived in Oxford for a year and a half now and I can say assuredly that I am definitely made for the countryside. After living in a tiny little Scottish village for 6 weeks over the summer it became quite obvious that it was the country life for me. However I am also aware that this will most likely be the only few years I will ever live in such a beautiful city as Oxford and so it is important I enjoy it. I may never again be surrounded by stunning architecture, more book shops than you can shake a stick at and ridiculously good coffee shops. I may never again be able to pop down to London for the day on the coach and go to a show or do some shopping. And so I have been trying to enjoy Oxford, to enjoy my time here and to enjoy city living. I am going out of my way to enjoy spending time in such an amazing place and taking advantage of all it has to offer like beautiful walks around Christ Church Meadow which, when bathed in golden winter sun, is really rather magical.

What I wore….
Dress – Fatface | Coat – Wallis | Hat – Primark | Boots – New Look | Bag – Market Stall in Portugal
2 thoughts on “The Golden Light Of Winter”

  1. How you feel about Oxford is my exact feelings towards Bath >.< Constantly missing my life in the countryside by the sea, but also trying to make the most of shops that are open till much later, abundant coffee houses and a close proximity to the novelty that is London town ^_^
    That castle looks so pretty! In the winter light, it's so romantic and fairytale

    Have a lovely February

    Sarah xxo

    Like

  2. I know it's so difficult to try and get the balance right but definitely want to make the most of it whilst I am here! I know its gorgeous and there are loads of buildings like that in Oxford, need to make the most of it!

    You too! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

