Food, Foodie Fridays, Lifestyle, Recipe, Vegan, Vegetarian, Winter

Spinach and Roasted Veg Winter Salad

I have a confession to make……Salads are one of my favourite things….yep that’s right, I’m a total weirdo who loves to eat salad. But I think must people have the wrong view about salad, a lot of people imagine salad and see a simple plain boring load of iceberg lettuce in a box with no dressing. For me however, this is not the case at all. My salads are juicy, yummy, satisfying things full of nutrients and tangy flavour. I absolutely love having them in the summer but once it got to October I wasn’t feeling salad any more, I wanted something warm that was full of starch and be comforting on those cold days. And so I went about inventing some warm salads to have during the winter, something delicious and satisfying with seasonal veggies. I came up with lots of yummy recipes but this one has to be my favourite so far. Packed full of flavour and nutrients this dish is just the perfect comfort food on a winters day and it’s so easy to make. 
At the beginning of the week I like to make a few things in bulk to see me through and make life easier. It means I don’t have to be organised and make my lunches the night before every day of the week because I’ve already got a load of stuff in the fridge that I can chuck together. This dish is one of those things. The roasted veggies I like to make in advance and I pretty much use anything I can find be it sweet potatoes, carrots, butternut squash, potatoes, parsnips whatever I just cut it into chunks add some seasoning and throw it in the oven. Then once its cooked I put it in containers in the fridge and throughout the week I toss it over salads or add in some other veggies. Its so easy and so tasty and it means you can get a really delicious nutritious lunch every day of the week.    
Ingredients: 
Half a butternut squash
4 Potatoes 
Spinach
2 tsp mixed herbs
1 tsp paprika
Pinch of Salt
Pinch of Pepper
Two large handfuls of spinach
Olive oil
Recipe:
1. As I said I like to make the roasted veg in advance but it can be done on the day if you wish. Preheat the oven to 200 C. Cut the potato and butternut squash into chunks throw into an oven proof dish, add a glug of olive oil, the mixed herbs, paprika, salt and pepper shake the dish until the veggies are coated. 
2. Roast the veggies for 40 minutes – 50 minutes, until the potatoes are looking crisp and golden. Leave to cool and store in a box in the fridge. 
3. When you are ready for your salad take out a frying pan, put a tiny bit of oil in it add the roasted veg and the spinach and stir until all the spinach has wilted. 
And that is it! Simple and delicious and so easy to make in any way you want, you could add whatever veggies you want. The roasted veg also go really well on a bed of tender stem broccoli, raw spinach or mixed leaves. Hope you enjoyed this super easy recipe. Let me know in the comments below if you tried it.  

1 thought on “Spinach and Roasted Veg Winter Salad”

Leave a Reply

