Adventure, Fashion, Outdoors, Travel

Queen Of Scots


I love love love visiting National Trusts, being a complete history nerd it has been one of my favourite things to do for as long as I can remember. I think a holiday is never really complete without visiting at least one heritage site and seeing as I have my wonderful National Trust card Brodick castle seemed the place to go in Arran. Unfortunately the castle was in the middle of a bit of a refurb whilst we were there but we got to wander around the beautiful grounds and I was able to play at being Mary Queen of Scots (a slight obsession of mine since watching the tv series Reign!).
The grounds were covered in early spring flowers including hundreds of bright yellow daffodils and I couldn’t help but stop to pose and get into some very interesting positions trying to get the right shot of the daffodils (first photo). The whole castle had an aura of history and magic about it and you could just imagine finding a Princess locked away in a tower somewhere or hiding in a summer house. We wandered through the formal gardens and found the amazing Bavarian summer house which is built entirely from wood and decorated with pinecones and bark all throughout the insides, it was a breath taking sight to see how intricately the little pinecones fitted together. We also found a 19th century ice house or a freezer as we would now call it and a recreation of a Bronze Age round house. 
I wish we could have gone inside as the pictures looked amazing but that will have to be another thing to add to my list when we return one day. But for now I enjoyed our day of wandering through the grounds, smelling flowers and imagining I was a Scottish Queen on her Island. 

What I wore…
Top – M&S | Skirt – Asos | Scarf – H&M | Wellies – Hunters | Sunglasses – Tribe
1 thought on “Queen Of Scots”

Leave a Reply

