Adventure, Fashion, History, Lifestyle, Outdoors, Sea, Travel

Lochranza Castle

The more I saw of Arran the more I loved it, having never been to a Scottish Island I wasn’t quite sure  what to expect but it certainly didn’t disappoint. The northern side of the Island is rugged and truly Scottish with burnt orange hills and mountains topped with snow creeping up in the distance. It was a wonderful drive from Whiting Bay, where we were staying, to Lochranza. Some of the roads were a little patchy as is to be expected in the hills but every now and again you’d get a nice stretch of tarmac giving you that true Scottish experience of gliding down the road surrounded by the jagged curves and corners of the hills. 
I think if I were to come back to stay in Arran (which I really hope I will do one day) I would be very tempted to stay in or near Lochranza. For me the perfect holiday means escaping from civilisation and hiding away in my own little haven where I can read, walk and soak up the peace. Lochranza is perfect for that, consisting of only a castle, a distillery and a few houses, hotels and B&Bs its definitely my idea of peace and quiet. 
I think Lochranza castle was definitely one of my favourite things we saw, quintessentially Scottish with its rough grey stone walls slowly crumbling under the weight of time, surrounded by the sea and spectacular views of hills and mountains. I loved wandering around thinking about who might have lived there and picturing liaisons between Scottish princesses and warriors. My imagination is always at it’s best when I am in Scotland, I definitely think if I want my dream of becoming a professional writer to come true I need to move as soon as possible!    

Hope you’re all having a lovely blessed day and look out for even more posts from Arran coming soon (sorry I couldn’t stop taking photos). 
What I wore…
Top – Asos | Jeans – New Look | Trainers – New Look 

Leave a Reply

