Adventure, History, Lifestyle, Outdoors

Wild and Free

I’ve always been  bit of a history nerd, ever since I was little I’ve been completely fascinated by the past – how people lived and what it was like, and I think my families obsession with period dramas probably encouraged this fascination. I loved watching things like Pride and Prejudice, Cranford, Larkrise to Candleford and would often dress up and play that I lived in “the olden days” as we called it at my house. This fascination with history has followed me into my teens and adult life, so much so that I almost went to study Ancient History and Archaeology at University. Now, however, it mainly consists of me watching every period drama known to man, reading hundreds of classic and historical novels and visiting as many National Trust/Heritage sites as I can fit in. I am also lucky enough to be marrying a man who shares my love for history and is happy to go to every castle and stately home I can find. 
There is something quite exciting though about going to a historical site that isn’t teaming with tourists, it almost makes you feel a little bit like an archaeologist or in the case of the stones at Machrie Moor in Arran, a bit like Claire from Outlander. I have to admit I was a little bit apprehensive to touch the stones just in case – Outlander watchers you will know what I mean! Also if you haven’t watched Outlander you really should, it’s an amazing tv programme set in Scotland in the 1700s full of burly, ginger Scottish men in kilts with six packs (if that doesn’t entice you I don’t know what will!) 

This was the last day in our trip to Arran and I have to say I really want to go back, it was such an amazing place with so much history and ridiculously beautiful scenery. We were lucky enough to see quite a bit of it but I know there is still a lot left to be explored next time we come.

1 thought on “Wild and Free”

Leave a Reply

