Fashion, Style, Summer

Wonderland

I didn’t really intend for these photos to be styled or themed, they were just photos that Russell and I took when we went out for a walk one day. Once I got home, however, I was surprised to see they reminded me of Alice in Wonderland. I think it has to do with the way the forest looks so big around me and the peter pan collar probably adds to the look as well. These were taken at the Boarstall Duck Decoy, a device I had never heard of or seen that was used for catching ducks back in the day so they could be eaten. The Decoy is essentially a large pond with channels coming off it that get narrower and narrower, the channels are covered in a net and eventually what happens is the ducks get caught up in the net. It was quite interesting to learn about from the lovely volunteer at the entrance but what we enjoyed more were the beautiful woods surrounding the decoy. 
Russell and I love to go for country walks as you will know if you often read my blog and we are always looking for new and interesting places to go. Luckily with our National Trust membership we don’t have to look far. The woods at Boarstall Duck Decoy were once used for hunting but are now full of wildlife such as bats and many different species of bird as well as a beautiful array of wild flowers. It was the perfect place to have a relaxing walk on a Sunday afternoon and we’d definitely like to go back. 
Life has been busy and a bit stressful lately but I am trying to make sure I relish those quiet moments spent outdoors with Russell. Living in the present has been a big part of my 2016 and I find that less and less I looking forward to the future and instead I am learning to enjoy what we have now. 

What I Wore…
Skirt – Asos | Top – H&M | Cardigan – M&S | Brogues – Primark

SaveSaveSaveSave

4 thoughts on “Wonderland”

Leave a Reply

